header sloganimage


2006 Members of the Committee

Co-Chairs George Beall
  Stephen H. Sachs
Reporter Sherrilyn Ifill
Marcellus Alexander, Jr. C. James Lowthers
Ava Baker Timothy Maloney
P.Tyson Bennett A. Dwight Pettit
Gilbert Holmes Linda Pierson
Harry R. Hughes Donald B.Robertson
Donald Hutchinson Carmen Shepard
Christopher Kehoe Kenneth Thompson
Helen Koss Christopher West
Mark G. Loeb Pamela J. White
Eugene M. Lerner  
Staff Associate Rebecca Saybolt Bainum



George Beall
Partner, Hogan & Hartson; U.S. Attorney for the District of Maryland (1970-1975); resident of Baltimore County.

Stephen H. Sachs
Of Counsel, Wilmer, Cutler, Pickering, Hale and Dorr; U.S. Attorney for the District of Maryland (1967-1970); Maryland Attorney General (1979-1987); resident of Baltimore City.


Sherrilyn A. Ifill
Professor of Law, University of Maryland School of Law; member, National Ad Hoc Advisory Committee on Judicial Campaign Conduct; resident of Baltimore City.


Marcellus Alexander, Jr.
Executive Vice President, National Association of Broadcasters' (NAB) Television Department; former General Manager, WJZ-TV; resident of Montgomery County.

Ava Baker
Director for Member Service, AARP; Former member, Field Faculty, University of Maryland; resident of Howard County.

P. Tyson Bennett
Managing partner, Reese and Carney, LLP (Annapolis); Adjunct Professor (School Law and Disability Law), Johns Hopkins University; resident of Anne Arundel County.

Gilbert Holmes
Dean, University of Baltimore School of Law; former faculty member, Texas Wesleyan University School of Law, Southern Methodist Law School, and Seton Hall University Law School; resident of Howard County.

Harry R. Hughes
Governor of Maryland (1979– 1987);Maryland Senate (1959-1970); Maryland House of Delegates (1955-1959); resident of Caroline County.

Donald Hutchinson
President and CEO, SunTrust Bank, Maryland; former President, Greater Baltimore Committee; County Executive, Baltimore County (1978-1986); Maryland State Senate (1974-1978); Maryland House of Delegates (1969-1974); resident of Baltimore County.

Christopher Kehoe
Partner, Ewing, Dietz, Fountain & Kehoe (Easton); Town Attorney, Town of Easton; resident of Talbot County.

Helen Koss
Maryland House of Delegates (1971– 1987); President, League of Women Voters of Maryland (1963-1967); resident of Montgomery County.

Mark G. Loeb
Rabbi, Beth El Congregation in Baltimore; Past Chair, Board of Trustees, Baltimore Hebrew University (1999-2002); resident of Baltimore County.

Eugene M. Lerner
Associate Judge, Anne Arundel County Circuit Court, 5th Judicial Circuit, (1979-2001); resident of Anne Arundel County.

C. James Lowthers
President, United Food and Commercial Workers Union, Local 400 (headquarters- Prince George’s County); resident of Anne Arundel County.

Timothy Maloney
Partner, Joseph, Greenwald & Laake (Greenbelt); Member, Maryland House of Delegates (1979-1995) representing Prince George’s County; resident of Montgomery County.

A. Dwight Pettit
Principal, A. Dwight Pettit, P.A.; Member, Board of Regents of the University System of Maryland; President, Monumental Bar Association (1976-1978); resident of Baltimore City.

Linda Pierson
President, League of Women Voters of Maryland; member, Attorney Grievance Commission (2001-present); resident of Baltimore City.

Donald B. Robertson
Partner, Ross, Marsh & Foster; Maryland House of Delegates (1970-1989), Speaker Pro Tem(1987-1989),Majority Leader (1979-1987); resident of Montgomery County.

Carmen Shepard
Counsel, Buc & Beardsley (Washington, D.C.); Deputy Attorney General, Office of the Maryland Attorney General (1996-2002); resident of Washington, D.C.

Kenneth Thompson
Partner, DLA Piper Rudnick Gray Carey; Chairman, Judicial Nominating Commission for Baltimore City; resident of Baltimore City.

Christopher West
Principal, Semmes, Bowen & Semmes; Former counsel, Republican Party of Maryland; resident of Baltimore County.

Pamela J. White
Principal, Ober, Kaler, Grimes & Shriver, P.C.; President, Maryland State Bar Association (2001-2002); member, Committee on Public Trust and Confidence of the Maryland Court of Appeals; resident of Baltimore City.

Staff Associate

Rebecca Saybolt Bainum
Research Director and Legal Projects Manager, The Women’s Law Center of Maryland (2001-2006), Legal Counsel, Massachusetts State Senate (1995-1997); resident of Baltimore City.