header sloganimage


2010 Members of the Committee

Chair Linda Pierson
Marcellus Alexander, Jr. Timothy Maloney
Rebecca Saybolt Bainum A. Dwight Pettit
George Beall Roger Perkins
P.Tyson Bennett Donald B.Robertson
Gilbert Holmes Stephen H. Sachs
Donald Hutchinson Carmen Shepard
Sherrilyn Ifill Kenneth Thompson
Eugene M. Lerner Christopher West



Linda Pierson — Former president, League of Women Voters of Maryland; member, Attorney Grievance Commission (2001-present); resident of Baltimore City.


Marcellus Alexander, Jr. — Executive Vice President, National Association of Broadcasters' (NAB) Television Department; former General Manager, WJZ-TV; resident of Montgomery County.

Rebecca Saybolt Bainum — Managing Director, Clinical Law Program, University of Maryland School of Law; Staff Associate, Maryland Judicial Campaign Conduct Committee (2006 – 2007); Research Director and Legal Projects Manager, The Women’s Law Center of Maryland (2001-2006), Legal Counsel, Massachusetts State Senate (1995-1997); resident of Baltimore City.

George Beall — Partner, Hogan & Hartson; U.S. Attorney for the District of Maryland (1970-1975); resident of Baltimore County.

P. Tyson Bennett — Managing partner, Carney, Kelehan, Bresler, Bennett & Scherr, LLP (Annapolis); Adjunct Professor (School Law and Disability Law), Johns Hopkins University; resident of Anne Arundel County.

Gilbert Holmes — Professor, University of Baltimore School of Law; former Dean, University of Baltimore School of Law (2001 – 2007); former faculty member, Texas Wesleyan University School of Law, Southern Methodist Law School, and Seton Hall University Law School; resident of Howard County.

Donald Hutchinson — Interim President and CEO, Maryland Zoo in Baltimore; former President and CEO, SunTrust Bank, Maryland; former President, Greater Baltimore Committee; County Executive, Baltimore County (1978-1986); Maryland State Senate (1974-1978); Maryland House of Delegates (1969-1974); resident of Baltimore County.

Sherrilyn A. Ifill — Professor of Law, University of Maryland School of Law; member, National Ad Hoc Advisory Committee on Judicial Campaign Conduct; resident of Baltimore City.

Eugene M. Lerner — Associate Judge, Anne Arundel County Circuit Court, 5th Judicial Circuit, (1979-2001); resident of Anne Arundel County.

Timothy Maloney — Partner, Joseph, Greenwald & Laake (Greenbelt); Member, Maryland House of Delegates (1979-1995) representing Prince George’s County; resident of Montgomery County.

A. Dwight Pettit — Principal, A. Dwight Pettit, P.A.; Member, Board of Regents of the University System of Maryland; President, Monumental Bar Association (1976-1978); resident of Baltimore City.

Roger Perkins — Principal, the Law Offices of Roger A. Perkins (Annapolis); Assistant City Attorney, City of Annapolis (1980 – 1982); Principal, the Law Offices of Roger A. Perkins (Annapolis) (1978-2009); resident of Anne Arundel County.

Donald B. Robertson — Partner, Ross, Marsh & Foster; Maryland House of Delegates (1970-1989), Speaker Pro Tem(1987-1989),Majority Leader (1979-1987); resident of Montgomery County.

Stephen H. Sachs — Of Counsel, Wilmer, Cutler, Pickering, Hale and Dorr; U.S. Attorney for the District of Maryland (1967-1970); Maryland Attorney General (1979-1987); resident of Baltimore City.

Carmen Shepard — Counsel, Buc & Beardsley (Washington, D.C.); Deputy Attorney General, Office of the Maryland Attorney General (1996-2002); resident of Washington, D.C.

Kenneth Thompson — Partner, DLA Piper Rudnick Gray Carey; Chairman, Judicial Nominating Commission for Baltimore City; resident of Baltimore City.

Christopher West — Principal, Semmes, Bowen & Semmes; Former counsel, Republican Party of Maryland; resident of Baltimore County.