header sloganimage



Statement of Purpose

Our Program



2012 Members of the Committee

Chair Linda Pierson
Betty Adams Leslie Florestano Peek
George Beall A. Dwight Pettit
P.Tyson Bennett Roger Perkins
Cornelius “Neil” Helfrich D. Bruce Poole
Harry R. Hughes Donald B.Robertson
Sherrilyn Ifill Stephen H. Sachs
Eugene M. Lerner Carmen Shepard
Timothy Maloney Kenneth Thompson
Leigh R. Melton Christopher West



Linda Bowler Pierson — Former president, League of Women Voters of Maryland; Attorney Grievance Commission, Member (2001-present); Baltimore City Board of Ethics, Chair (2010-present); Maryland Access to Justice Commission, Member (2009-present); resident of Baltimore City.


Betty Adams  — Principle, Adams & Adams (Ellicott City); Chair, Judicial Selection Committee of the Howard County Bar Association; Member, Attorney Grievance Commission (2009-present); resident of Howard County.

George Beall — Founding managing partner, Hogan & Hartson; U.S. Attorney for the District of Maryland (1970-1975); resident of Baltimore County.

P. Tyson Bennett — Managing partner, Carney, Kelehan, Bresler, Bennett & Scherr, LLP (Annapolis); Former General Counsel, Maryland Republican Party; resident of Anne Arundel County.

Cornelius “Neil” Helfrich – President, Cornelius David Helfrich, PA (Bel Air); former President, Harford County Bar Association; former President, Maryland State Bar Association (2004-2005); Family Law Master (1992-2008); resident of Harford County.

Harry R. Hughes — Governor of Maryland (1979-1987); Maryland Senate (1959-1970); Maryland House of Delegates (1955-1959); resident of Caroline County.

Sherrilyn A. Ifill — Professor of Law, University of Maryland School of Law; member, National Ad Hoc Advisory Committee on Judicial Campaign Conduct; resident of Baltimore City.

Eugene M. Lerner — Associate Judge, Anne Arundel County Circuit Court, 5th Judicial Circuit, (1979-2001); resident of Anne Arundel County.

Timothy Maloney — Partner, Joseph, Greenwald & Laake (Greenbelt); Member, Maryland House of Delegates (1979-1995) representing Prince George’s County; resident of Montgomery County.

Leigh R. Melton — Partner, Parker, Counts and Melton (Easton); Adjunct professor, University of Baltimore School of Law (2009-present); Faculty Member, Professionalism Committee, Maryland State Bar Association (2008-present); resident of Talbot County.

Leslie Florestano Peek — Assistant Public Defender (Upper Marlboro); Member, Board of Directors, Calvert County Bar Association; Member, Peer Review Committee, Attorney Grievance Commission; Member, Board of Directors, Calvert Alliance Against Substance Abuse; resident of Calvert County.

A. Dwight Pettit — Principal, A. Dwight Pettit, P.A.; Member, Board of Regents of the University System of Maryland; President, Monumental Bar Association (1976-1978); resident of Baltimore City.

Roger Perkins — Principal, the Law Office of Roger A. Perkins (Annapolis) (1978-2010); Assistant City Attorney, City of Annapolis (1980–1982); attorney for the City of Annapolis Board of Appeals (1986-2003, 2005-2008); Fellow, American Academy of Matrimonial Lawyers (1991-2010); Member, Appellate Judicial Nominating Commission (1995-present); resident of Anne Arundel County.

D. Bruce Poole – Principal, Poole & Kane, PA (Hagerstown); former member, Maryland State Ethics Commission (1999-2002); House Majority Leader (1990-1993); resides in Washington County.

Donald B. Robertson — Partner, Ross, Marsh & Foster, Washington, D.C.; Maryland House of Delegates (1971-1989), Speaker Pro Tem (1987-1989), Majority Leader (1979-1987); resident of Montgomery County.

Stephen H. Sachs — Of Counsel, Wilmer, Cutler, Pickering, Hale and Dorr; U.S. Attorney for the District of Maryland (1967-1970); Maryland Attorney General (1979-1987); resident of Baltimore City.

Carmen Shepard — Partner, Zuckerman Spaeder, LLC (Washington, D.C.); Deputy Attorney General, Office of the Maryland Attorney General (1996-2002); resident of Washington, D.C.

Kenneth Thompson — Partner, Venable LLP; Chairman, Judicial Nominating Commission for Baltimore City; resident of Baltimore City.

Christopher West — Principal, Semmes, Bowen & Semmes; Former counsel, Republican Party of Maryland; resident of Baltimore County.


Maryland Judicial Campaign Conduct Committee, Inc. 
P.O. Box 10427 Baltimore, Maryland 21209